Can you hit a pickleball while outside the court sideline (e.g. after an Erne)

Hey Pickleballists! So, when a player hops out on an Erne and then the the ball comes back to that players side, where they jumped out… do they need to re-establish themselves inside the court with one or both feet, or are they okay to hit the ball while still out of bounds (before getting back in the court sidelines)? It’s happened a couple times when I’ve been playing and we have all kind of wondered what the official rule is on that!



1 Like

As long as they are not standing in the kitchen. They’re good! They can be out of bounds and hit it. Doesn’t matter if it’s before an Erne or after an Erne or whatever…


Awesome! Thanks for the insight @nicole!

1 Like