Introduction - Gabe French

Hello everyone…! The name’s Gabe, I’m born and raised in Florida, and I’ve been playing Pickleball for almost four years now. I first got introduced to the sport at a resort I was staying in, and a couple there taught me the rules of the game. Don’t know what it was, but I fell in love with the sport. It wasn’t too long after that I got my first equipment and started playing regularly. Today, I’m still playing, and I don’t plan to quit. Although I have not played a competitive match yet, I have played too many recreational matches to count across my county. In-fact, I was invited to be a part of my community’s Pickleball travel team, but had to decline because of the game-times that were conflicting for me as a student. In 2018, I helped manage to bring Pickleball into the P.E. program at my middle-school, where over 500-students learned the basics of the sport. It was awesome seeing how everyone, even those who weren’t the most athletic or enthusiastic in the classes, were having so much fun, and I’m proud to say that many of them are still playing it to this day. Due to complications and the tricky transition that is from middle- to high-school, I had to take a break from the sport for a significant amount of time. However, I never truly stopped playing it. Thankfully, now that I have the time, ability, and leisure to, I am back in the game. I’ve spent lots of time over this quarantine rebuilding my fundamentals and climbing back up to where I once was. Today, I’m the best I have ever been in the sport, but I don’t plan on stopping there. I plan to play my first competitive matches soon, and when the time comes, my first tournament as well. I’m proud to be a part of such an incredible, uplifting, an ever-growing community. See you around…!

7 Likes

Wow! What a neat story about how you were introduced to pickleball. Thank goodness you went on vacation and stayed at that resort, eh!?! :stuck_out_tongue: