Looking for local pickleball players

I just moved and I’m having a hard time locating drop in games where any ability can go and play. If anyone in Smithfield, UT it Cache Valley knows of this kind of community let me know. I can only find organized tournament style pickleball here and I just want to get out and play.

Hey there, @dbridgeclark!

I’m not familiar with the Smithfield area, unfortunately :disappointed:

My advice would be to “Be the one!” to start the drop-in style, in your community! The alternative is to wait, and hope you can find someone else who’s doing it. But it sounds like it’s not happening. Another option is to do something like what @Ari started… a weekly “beginners clinic” that’s free and designed to teach people how to play, and give them some time for open rec play!

When I started playing pickleball last year, I only had one friend that played… the one and only @danisonhighland! We would go to the courts and grind it out at singles for 3-5 hours… usually 2x/wk. My body couldn’t handle any more!

giphy-3
Being at the pickleball courts for an extended period of time, consistently, every Tue and Thu morning, from 6am - 9am ish allowed me to see lots of other pickleballists :smirk: coming and going. When we saw someone who looked new to the game, we’d invite them to join in with us. They were excited to find out that we were playing every Tue and Thu, at the same time. They started coming regularly.

Because we were at the pickleall courts regularly, we got to know/recognize some of the other really good players, in our area. We’d stick around and watch their games and occasionally we or they would ask if we could mix in. We took every opportunity to play with, and most importantly… LEARN FROM the better players around us. Players like @pickleballlove5 or @lorimacle graciously invited us to join in and play with their group. We made new connections and grew our network!