No More Pickleball :(

It’s a sad day when arguably the biggest organization in the Pickleball World starts cancelling events. We are living in an interesting time and at times it’s hard to now how to react. Most if not all of us have never experienced anything like this. But in times like these its important for us to stick together and look out for one another. It just so happens that togetherness seems to be one of the unspoken rules of Pickleball and that is only one of many reasons I love this great sport!

What are your thoughts? Should these Tournament Directors postpone or cancel their events due to the current circumstances?

Here is the link to the USAPA announcement for those who are interested

https://www.usapa.org/usa-pickleball-statement-on-the-coronavirus/?fbclid=IwAR3YNReSKSgXUTV_2dy5O2E98J0DMnbCNbjKI_2D9W7L-afEhBpRicyuLN0

1 Like

Great question. I work in the medical field and am a high risk individual for getting this virus. What we are learning is everyone will get it to some degree or another at some point. What needs to happen is decrease the speed of which it is affecting people because we aren’t equipped to handle everyone at once. Essentially if we don’t practice social distancing we are putting the clinicians and caregivers in hospitals the responsibility to decide who lives and who dies. I wouldn’t want that at all. So I am practicing it as much as possible. That way I can do my part to decrease the speed of the spread.

3 Likes

That’s a great perspective that I feel most people are not understanding. We are not being told to quarantine ourselves for the sake of surviving this uber fatal virus (which is where I think most of this panic is coming from), it is more to slow down the spread so that we can control it better and protect those that may have a compromised immune system!

just to continue the USAPA statement…