Stan's Pickleball Path

I have always been semi active in sports and competition. After reading @jordan’s pickleball story I realized that we are very similar in several ways. I grew up playing baseball and then I started getting into some more obscure things to compete in. For example, I was on the USA Jr National Luge Team and the BYU Ballroom team. I guess that even translates into some hobbies (beekeeping) and work (map making). So, I guess taking up pickleball was not that far out from the norm for me. My father in law has put together an adult softball team since before I knew him, and I have been playing on the team for the past 16 years. My wife loves to play tennis and has tried to get me to play but I just end up hitting to many home runs. :blush: I guess you can say this is my sports background leading up to pickleball.

In the fall of 2018 Spanish Fork City built 16 amazing courts just a few blocks from my house. As most people, I had no ideas what that was. My wife said we should play and so before the courts were built, we bought a starter set with wooden paddles and a net. We set it up in our driveway and played a little. We played with our kids and it was fun to learn the rules and dink around. At the grand opening of the courts I won a Paddletek Phoenix LT paddle and I was amazed at how much better it was playing with that vs a wooden paddle. So, the next thing you know I was buying $20-$30 paddles for all my kids and I ended up using an UpStreet paddle that I really liked until it chipped and cracked on me. I now use the Prince paddle and love it.

In 2018 I had set some goals for myself and I accomplished them. I was so happy that I thought I should figure out what I should do for 2019. With pickleball on my mind I decided to make a few pickleball related goals. I wanted to complete in 2 or more tournaments and become a 4.0 level player. Little did I know what that meant. All I knew was what was in the rating descriptions.