What is a progression mindset?

I’ve been pondering this very question for the last 4 years. I have had many people who have taught me what it means to have a progression mindset and what is necessary to make it happen.

Thanks to Eric Gubler, @roweda, Dave Glendenning, Randy Zbinden and many more I have been able to apply a progression mindset. There are a few that are on this forum who are GREAT examples of the growth mindset. @suzeeanderson13 @frankanthonydavis @cathparenteau1994 @Michelle @Dayne etc.

Let me share with you a little food for thought.

You have to be ok with losing

This is a HUGE one!!

If you are working on a particular skill at any level you have to be ok with losing that particular match if you work on the things you are trying to improve on. You SHOULD LOSE! This is a skill you are not good at and you should be making mistakes!

Being so focused on winning pushes you to leave working on the skill you are trying to develop in order to go into your comfortable skills you already know.

Be ok with losing in order to develop a skill in game like situations.

Progression is a long term mindset, not a quick fix

I have been playing pickleball for 4 years as of May 2020. In this time I have had to work on parts of my game that took me months to years to develop and I am still working on things.

For example…My backhand SUCKED!! I could not hit the ball with my backhand to save my life. So, I hit EVERY BALL with my backhand that I possibly could. Even when the right shot was a forehand. I focused on this one skill for months before it became a natural part of my game.

It is important to remember that EVERY TIME you level up, its just like starting over and you need to dedicate the time to those skills.

Remember, progression is a long term commitment!

Be honest with your skill level

Be ok with your skills and honest when evaluating!

Let that sink in…